Reservation Form
Selection Committee
2009 Awards
2008 Awards
2007 Awards
About Rudy
Get the iPhone App
Follow the AWARD

2008 Award Recipient

LeVon Morefield
University of Akron

University of Akron Zip walk-on, junior running back LeVon Morefield has been named the winner of the 2009 College Football Rudy Award.

LeVon was presented the trophy by Daniel 'Rudy' Ruettiger in a live ceremony held January 11th in Orlando, FL.

He was born one month premature, and addicted to crack cocaine as a result of his mother’s drug use. He has one older sibling, a brother who was also born addicted to crack cocaine. LeVon and his brother grew up together, and yet never lived in a stable home moving from home to home. Growing up with this rough background proves one of two things. It proves that you can become a product of your environment, which his brother did, and is now serving a life sentence in prison. But, it also proves that you can take the negatives of your life and turn them into a positive energy towards excelling for success.

2009 Finalists

O'Darris D'Haiti - Florida International University
A walk-on, senior defensive back O’Darris D’Haiti was cut from the Golden Panthers the first time he tried out. His hard work has since earned him playing time on special teams and eventually as a defensive starter.

Brian Coulter - University of Missouri
University of Missouri Tigers senior defensive end Brian Coulter has overcome what most would consider impossible odds. Family violence spiraled out of control in his childhood. His mother, in self defense, shot & killed his father.

Click Here for Photos from the 2009 Awards Ceremony

All 2009 Nominees

Mike Anello Notre Dame University Charlie Weiss
Seth Armbrust University of Arkansas Bobby Petrino
Toney Baker North Carolina State University  
Jess Bowers Clemson University Dabo Sweeney
James Burkes Marshall University  
Jake Coffman Northern Illinois University  
Joe Conklin University of Iowa Kirk Ferentz
Jamar Cotton New Mexico State University  
Brian Coulter University of Missouri Gary Pinkel
Matt Coulthard Army  
Doug Deakin San Diego State University  
O'Darris D'Haiti Florida International University  
Phillip Dillard University of Nebraska Bo Pelini
Patrick Edwards University of Houston  
Daryl Faulkner University of Kentucky Rich Brooks
Josh Flores Utah State University  
Stephen Harrison Kansas State University  
Chris Hayes University of Miami  
Jerome Hayes Penn State University Joe Paterno
Robert Hill Auburn University  
Tim Hiller Western Michigan University  
Michael Hodges Texas A&M University Mike Sherman
Tony Hunter Bowling Green University  
Jeremy Kellem Middle Tennesse State University  
Chase Kennemer Southern Methodist University June Jones
Phillip Knight San Jose State University  
Jordan Kovacs University of Michigan Rich Rodriguez
Tyson Lee Mississippi State University  
Luke Lippincott University of Nevada Chris Ault
Chris Maragos University of Wisconsin  
Zeke Markshausen Northwestern University  
Levon Morefield University of Akron  
Darius Nall University of Central Florida George O'Leary
Nathan Nolin Troy University  
Jo Jo Ortiz University of Texas-El Paso  
Adam Podet Tulane University  
Ross Pospisil United States Naval Academy  
Robert Quinn University of North Carolina  
Brad Sellers Georgia Tech University  
Lee Renfro University of Ohio Frank Solich
Steven Sheffield Texas Tech University Mike Leach
Joseph Sloan East Carolina University Skip Holtz
Joey Sorrentino University of Florida Urban Meyer
Collin Taylor Indiana University  
Mike Tepper University of California  
Brett Toney Memphis University  
Blair White Michigan State University Mark Dantonio
Kion Wilson University of South Florida  
Curtis Young University of Cincinnatti Brian Kelly