Reservation Form
Selection Committee
2009 Awards
2008 Awards
2007 Awards
About Rudy
Get the iPhone App
Follow the AWARD

Award Process FAQs


What is awarded?
The winner will have an academic scholarship awarded in his name to his university and will be presented the College Football Rudy Award by Rudy Ruettiger at the Fourth Annual College Football Rudy Awards Ceremony on January 11, 2011 in Dallas, Texas at the Hilton Anatole Hotel.

The two Runners-up will each receive an academic scholarship awarded in their name to their respective universities and the Runner’s Up Award.

Who is eligible?
Any Division I college football player that satisfies the following eligibility requirements may be nominated:
• Nominee can be any gender, age, or year in the university (Freshman through Senior).
• Nominee must be a player on the football team roster at some point during the 2010 season.

Does the player have to be a walk-on like Rudy was?
No, any player is eligible.

Who may nominate a player?
Only coaches may nominate a player for the College Football Rudy Awards, although we encourage the university's Sports Information Directors and Media Directors to assist and participate in the process.

When is the deadline to submit a nomination?
Nominations are accepted beginning October 25, 2010 and will close at 5:00pm Pacific Time on November 30, 2010.

How are the Nominees evaluated?
The nominees are evaluated based on the following criteria:
• The Four C's: Character, Courage, Contribution, & Commitment both on and off the field.
• Positive impact of the nominee’s inspirational story.
• Extent to which nominee has "Dreamed Big & Never Quit!"

What is the process to select a winner?
Based on the criteria above, the Selection Committee will vote on three (3) finalists. Each selection committee member will evaluate nominees on a points system. The athlete receiving the most total points and votes will be the College Football Rudy Awards winner.

Will the public be able to vote?
The Rudy Awards selection process also incorporates a Fan Vote component. Fans are invited to vote through this website for their choice of the nation’s most inspirational Division I College football player. The Fan Voting will commence on December 1, 2010, and close at 5:00pm Pacific Time on December 13, 2010. Online fan voting is limited to one vote per day. Fan voting carries the weight of one Selection Committee member. Results will be posted on December 14, 2010.

Permissions & Rights:
By participating in this Award, nominees agree and hereby grant the Rudy Foundation permission to use, copy, modify and make available the nomination submissions to the public (with or without attribution to the nominee) for any purpose, such as, but not limited to, posting on the College Football Rudy Awards website, press and media communications and outlets, without further compensation to the Nominee. The Rudy Foundation has full discretion to post or not post any Nominee submissions on the website.

If I have a question, who do I contact?
Questions should be directed to Burt Trembly through email at or call: (505) 328-2288