Reservation Form
Selection Committee
2009 Awards
2008 Awards
2007 Awards
About Rudy
Get the iPhone App
Follow the AWARD

It’s not about the Stats, it’s about the Heart!

Daniel ‘Rudy’ Ruettiger founded The College Football Rudy Awards to honor Division I football players who brought that ‘something extra’ to the team.

Rudy wanted to find the most inspirational and motivational players in America who best defined what he refers to as "The Four C's": Character, Courage, Contribution & Commitment.

The College Football Rudy Awards were launched in 2007. During the first year, 26 coaches nominated the ‘Rudy’ on their team. The inaugural award was presented to Terry Clayton of the University of Kentucky. A senior linebacker, Clayton lost his hearing at the age of five. He persevered as a walk on for the Kentucky football team and twice was named to the Southeast Conference Academic Honor Roll.

In 2008 the number of nominees more than doubled to 53, resulting in outstanding nominations including finalists Drew Combs (winner, pictured above), Dan Cafaro, and Nik Harris who was recently drafted by the Buffalo Bills.

Nominees will be chosen by our national selection committee consisting of such esteemed sports figures as June Junes and Chuck Knox (the Selection Committee). The selection process also incorporates a fan vote for supporters of the College Football Rudy Award (read the Awards Process FAQ).